Personal

Who Am I Esteemed By?

Who Am I Esteemed By?

John 18:36 (NIVUK)
36 Jesus said, ‘My kingdom is not of this world. If it were, my servants would fight to prevent my arrest by the Jewish leaders. But now my kingdom is from another place.’

esteem

I prayed about who I am esteemed by maybe a week or two ago and some of the things on the list of what I had allowed the world to tell me I was esteemed by included; my bank account, social media numbers, clothing, friends (the numbers not the people) and the main one that had led me to past pain was a man. I prayed and kept telling myself when I was feeling “less than” after some online window shopping or social media browsing that I am not esteemed by my wardrobe, a job, the money in my bank account, I AM ESTEEMED BY GOD.

I have believed so many lies about what esteems me it’s unreal.

Social media is one of the biggest liars that we all fall for. It tells us that the more followers we have the better we are. But honestly the more followers you have just means people like what you post and the echo chamber that you are in benefits you. But as we have seen over an over social media is not real, many social media stars have come out to tell us as much over the years. Social media does not esteem me or you.

Continue reading “Who Am I Esteemed By?”

Opinion Post

Dear Father; Never Let Me Go Back.

Dear Father; Never Let Me Go Back.

James 2:5 (NIVUK)
5 Listen, my dear brothers and sisters: has not God chosen those who are poor in the eyes of the world to be rich in faith and to inherit the kingdom he promised those who love him?

There is Hope

I have just come across this video on twitter and I feel like my stomach acid is going to explode out of me. The video itself is not offensive in any manner, it’s the comments that have left me feeling absolutely disgusted. I don’t use social media and lately I have been trying to get back into the habit of not reading the “news websites” too. I stay away from social media for many reasons mainly that it does not serve a useful purpose in my life. But the hypocrisy and ignorance in the comments has left me feeling so sad and deflated about this thing we call life. I titled this post Dear Father; never let me go back because I can not imagine a life lived without God in it. I can not imagine my life without everything that God has done for me over the past few years and in my whole life in general. I have been through a lot and I honestly can say – even though I wobble about this at times- I no longer feel the same way I did about my past. (seeking to blame, point the finger, hold people hostage about things that happened.) 

In the video the young lady is not preaching in the way that most of us are accustomed to; she is simply telling the people on the tube about her journey to getting to know Jesus. I winced a little when I first opened the video and then I immediately closed it before actually hearing anything that she had to say. Because I find what some street preachers have to say totally contrary to what Christianity is about. BUT upon reopening the video to hear what she said I was less wince-y and amazed at the boldness of these young women. I know for sure that right now if I had to get up and share my testimony in the same manner I would not be able to do it. I have wanted to take down my salvation story a few times since posting it even though I know that my story may help just one person and have been more concerned by others who may read it and think what a mess of a person. But God did not call me to a holy life for me to fear what people say or do to me.

Continue reading “Dear Father; Never Let Me Go Back.”