Personal

What Is My Character Preparing Me For?

What Is My Character Preparing Me For?

2 Corinthians 5:17 (NIV UK)
17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: the old has gone, the new is here!

I started properly thinking about my character a few or more weeks back when I watched a chat show in which a woman spoke about the organisation that she created to help young people to build up their characters (through musical perfromance.) I had also heard a few pastors speaking about ‘what certain things that we do are preparing us’ for but I had not really thought much further about it until I watched this chat show. After watching this show I wrote this post “don’t grow weary in doing good.” I realised that my leaving a job that I had been in was not so much of a mistake as I thought it had been. It showed me that I had character flaws that I desperately needed to work on before embarking on any type of job where I was representing Christians.

What I can see in my character right now (so far) is that I am preparing for divorce and cheating in a relationship.Quitting things is preparing me for divorce. Not being content or satisfied is preparing me for cheating.

1 Corinthians 15:58 (NIV UK)
58 Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labour in the Lord is not in vain.

This may seem extreme to some people but quitting on friendships; people, jobs, education, dreams is a one way ticket to quitting on a marriage because it’s too tough handle. As Joyce Meyer or Heather Lindsey put it, quitting on things then softens you to quitting on a marriage because you’ve quit before and you know that your quitting in those areas turned out OK. I have done a lot of quitting in my life, in the past when I was confronted with an opportunity to quit something I grabbed it with both hands. I didn’t know at the time that my quitting was laying a trap for me and any future endeavours. But now that I know that quitting will lead me down a road of quitting on a marriage which I do desire now (I never used to desire marriage, that is a back story post that I may write one day.) I know the importance of staying the course in whatever enters my life whether I have asked for it or not.

contentment

Philippians 4:11-13 (NIUK)
11 I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12 I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

I have recognised my lack of contentment and always wanting more as an issue for a long time now but I didn’t think about what it was preparing me for in terms of life and future. I was looking at lack of contentment through “things” but I didn’t realise that this could easily find it’s way into far more important areas of my life. Not being content with a wage can lead to searching for a new job that pays more but then when you’re in that better paying job you’re somehow still not satisfied for another reason. Not being content is a lie that we are being fed even more especially in this generation. We are not happy with what we can afford because we look at Instagram celebrities and they have what we desire but we don’t ask for or put in the work to attain it. 

My lack of contentment at times has led me to feeling very unhappy about my life and what I had in it. But since beginning this conscious journey with God I am learning to be content with what I have and to stop wanting more. Wanting more in its proper context is not wrong but when it’s in the place of contentment it always leads to shame.

I am thankful to God that He is forever teaching me things in unconventional ways and that I am slowly learning to listen to His guidance. There are plenty of things in my character that are “good” and other things that are not so “good” but now that I know what will lead me towards a future filled with constant emotional pain, I can deal with the issues head on. I am so thankful that God is allowing me to work on the issues that I picked up and built up over the years because I do not know what I would do if I had to tackle some of these things in the middle of a marriage or trying to raise kids.

ill be happy when

🙂

Leave a Reply

