Personal

Every Action Has A Reaction.

Every Action Has A Reaction.

James 1:19-20 (NIV UK)
Listening and doing
19 My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, 20 because human anger does not produce the righteousness that God desires.

This lesson was so necessary in my life this year. I was living in “I deserve better” land and God had to show me that a lot of what I was moaning about wouldn’t be something that I was moaning about if my reaction or action had been different. A lot of the things that have happened in my life have had to do with me reacting toward things out of anger, feeling like I deserve better etc. and this has lead to a whole heap of pain.

Last night (15/07/17) as I was thinking more about every action has a reaction I thought about the conversation between Wisdom & Mack in “The Shack.” Wisdom asks Mack if the guy who murdered his daughter deserves to be punished for what he did, he responds with a yes. Then she asks him the same question but with more information about the guys past, does he still deserve to be punished “even though his dad made him into this person; his dad was abusive, he was the monster, he is just living life according to what his dad instilled in him” these are not direct quotes. Eventually Mack softens and he starts to realise that he could have turned out the same way as that guy, someone could be speaking to wisdom and they could be responding with a “yes, Mack needs to be punished for what he did.”

This exchange in the movie and my own personal experiences have shown me that we all deserve to be punished for something or the other that we have done. Every action that has happened in our lives has been caused by something. We don’t have control over the action but we do have control over the reaction. Whatever we choose to or not to do has a consequence. Our reaction to an action may lead us to something that we deserve punishment for and so we need to be very careful when we hand down judgements of punishment towards others because we probably have a few things ourselves that we deserve to be punished for.

When God was educating me in this area there was something that came up and I started to dislike and maybe even hate the person for what they did because it lead to a lot of years of hurt, pain and sinfulness. BUT what God showed me was that I could have spoken up after the fact to stop anything more from continuing. The persons actions had lead me to the door of a specific sin but I had not done anything in response to that action and so I had no right to hold that person captive for the sinful life that I then lived because they controlled the action I controlled the reaction.

What have I learned from “Every Action Has A Reaction?”

  • Not to hold people in emotional prisons.
  • To never hold myself in a higher level to others.
  • Not to feel guilty about what I have done to others.
  • To spend less time thinking about the past and what has happened in it.
  • To remember that God is the final judge. Earthly judgement is nothing compared to Heavenly Judgement.

🙂

Music

Song Of The Day: Blameless / How He Loves.

Song Of The Day:

Dara Maclean – “Blameless / How He Loves”

Matthew 11:15 (NIV UK)
15 Whoever has ears, let them hear.

What manner of love is this
That You would lay down Your life
You paid the price, the sacrifice for redemption
Now I am determined to know
Christ and Him crucified
Now alive and the power in me is You

Now blameless,
You call me Holy
I’ve been forgiven, You call me righteous I’m free
Now spotless, You call me worthy
I am Your child, You call me chosen
I’m Yours

🙂