Personal

Pour From The Cup.

Pour From The Cup.

Ephesians 4:11-13(NIVUK)
11 So Christ himself gave the apostles, the prophets, the evangelists, the pastors and teachers, 12 to equip his people for works of service, so that the body of Christ may be built up 13 until we all reach unity in the faith and in the knowledge of the Son of God and become mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ.


Sharing Your Story WHILE It’s Being Written.

This week I prayed in my notebook “God Help Me,” this has been a prayer of mine for the past few weeks maybe even months and it has to do with this up and down spiritual funk that I have been in since February. Yikes! Lately I have been really battling things spiritually, I have felt like my life was moving forward and I was starting to get back to being right with God.

When I prayed these words I then watched Joyce Meyer teaching on Ephesians (you’ll find the video here there are a few on there and I can’t remember which one it was.) In this teaching she mentioned this story;

A woman came to her and told her that she had started to pray for her because when she would watch her teachings she wasn’t getting anything out of it and she thought that Joyce had sin within her. But when she prayed God told her that Joyce wasn’t the issue, she was. She was so full on the teachings she’d been hearing and she didn’t have any room for anything else. She first had to pour out and share what she had filled up on in order for her to get anything more. 

Out of everything in the teaching I felt as though this was for me. I understood the opposite of this, “pouring from an empty cup,” but I hadn’t thought too much about not pouring at all.

The past few weeks have been very testing and have shown me some of the things that are lying down on the surface of my relationships with my family. Some of my prayers have brought things out into the open and the aftermath of some events have left me feeling spiritually drained and not wanting to keep fighting. But when I have leaned on God He has wiped my tears away and strengthened me enough to carry on. I have then had determination to keep fighting and to win the battles that are currently going on in this season of my life. At times thanks to the outcome of my prayers and spiritual battles I have felt like maybe the answers to my prayers are being held up and I thought about Daniel… (I may go into this in a another post.)

Daniel 10:12-14 (NIV UK)
12 Then he continued, ‘Do not be afraid, Daniel. Since the first day that you set your mind to gain understanding and to humble yourself before your God, your words were heard, and I have come in response to them. 13 But the prince of the Persian kingdom resisted me twenty-one days. Then Michael, one of the chief princes, came to help me, because I was detained there with the king of Persia. 14 Now I have come to explain to you what will happen to your people in the future, for the vision concerns a time yet to come.’

A few weeks ago a big argument happened that I ended up being in the middle of when I should have stayed out of it. Since then I started praying for certain things to happen even though I knew they went against God’s current purpose for my life. Where He has placed me has a role to play in my life and those around me, it may not be where I would like to be but it is where God needs me to be in order to build my character. (This is a whole other post right here, watch this video for an understanding about the need for a good character.) But I began to pray for other things and I started to immerse myself in projects that I am currently working on instead of repenting and getting right with God. I neglected some of the things that were helping me to get out of the funk that I found myself in earlier this year.

The story that Joyce Meyer shared has spoken to me because I have started to neglect this blog lately, I have posted a few blogs but I haven’t been posting in a way that really speaks to what I wanted this blog to be about. I wanted this to be a space of sharing my story -somewhere to put it- to help other people who are maybe going through the same things that I am / was. But lately I haven’t been putting as much time and effort into sharing things outside of Alpha. Which has been great btw, I’ve enjoyed my time there.

Each week before Alpha comes around again God has lead me to new revelations and He has led me to things that are relevant to the topic that will be discussed. And the lies that the devil has been trying to tell me about God not being by my side have fallen away. At Alpha I have joined in on the conversation; added to it, rightfully or wrongfully but I have added to it and not sat on the side lines. And this has shown me the importance of having people who you can have a conversation with about this walk that we are all trying to walk out.

God doesn’t want us to fill up on His word and do nothing with it. We are not like some of the seeds in the parable of the sower. Matthew 13. We should be like the seed that fell on good soil (v.7/8) we should produce a crop from what Jesus has sown in us. When we hear a good teaching we should be sharing it not just through sending a link but through speaking to others about it and sharing what we gained from it. We should also be implementing it into our lives, using it to change our character and to renew our minds Romans 12:2.

This little story within a much bigger teaching has shown me the importance of sharing God’s word with others. I may not be sharing God’s word or impact in my life through physically speaking to people but my actions, posts on this blog, change when interacting with the world will do just that. Pouring from the cup when God is filling it up gives God more room to keep pouring into my life, I just need more courage to share more and be more bold and courageous about what God is speaking to me about.

The glass is half full and not half empty. 

🙂

 

Leave a Reply

