Personal · Quote Of The Day

Quote Of The Day: Life Is Not About What God Can Do For Me…

Quote Of The Day:

Life Is Not About What God Can Do For Me…

John 13:7 (NIV UK)
7 Jesus replied, ‘You do not realise now what I am doing, but later you will understand.’

Life is not about

I haven’t posted a quote of the day in a while this one is definitely for me though…

“Life is not about what God can do for me, life is about what I can do for God.”

I have heard maybe one or two people saying that this is a sign of spiritual maturity. When you reach a point where you don’t look to God for what He can do for you but you ask Him what you can do for Him. And I agree with this statement, I think I have become a little immature in my walk with God. Where I was content with it being me and God I am now constantly asking Him for things that show that I am more concerned with gaining and not enough with what I can do for God. My petition(s) are not selfish they just take up a lot of my time, thinking wise and like the young lady said in this video I posted here, “an idol is something that you spend more time thinking about than you do God.” 

I will say this; there is nothing wrong with asking God for what ever you desire. God will speak to you through that which you ask, and obviously when we have God within us we won’t ask for anything that doesn’t reflect God’s presence in our lives. God can do whatever He chooses to do in terms of giving us what we ask for. But we have to know that what we ask for has a purpose. There are minuscule things that we might think don’t serve a purpose but they probably are some of the most helpful things for sharing God’s goodness towards us.

John 14:13 (NIV UK)
13 And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son.

Back to what this post is about… there is something that I have been asking God for, for nearly a year now and so far I haven’t received what I am asking for. This has made me start to question where this desire came from – God, self, the devil. – It has also shown me that I have become doubt filled and double minded – And it has also made me think about how I see God, do I only see Him as a genie to grant my wishes or do I have a true relationship with Him. Right now I would have to say that I was starting to develop a relationship with God, an understanding of who He is but then circumstances (that I placed myself in) led me to petitioning God but doubt slipped in and doubt does not get you what or where you need to be it just keeps you in a cycle of petitioning and never receiving what God has for you.

What does this quote mean for those of us who are still maturing? This quote is a bit of hope that we will reach a point where we are asking God but we aren’t just asking for us, we are asking for God’s glory. We are asking God to use our lives for whatever purpose He has for us. Our prayers and petitions are not for God to hear because He knows what we will do, they are for us. They are meant to show us our hearts, the good and the bad.

Don’t stop praying and asking God because if God placed that desire within you He will fulfil it. It may not be the season for it just yet or you have a few lessons and some more maturity in that area before God can give you something that has potential to take your attention away from Him. Trust me not being close to God or removing your attention from Him and onto something like a relationship can be so detrimental to your journey with Him.

I pray that I and anyone who reads this and is also struggling with keeping God first finds their way to the maturity that is desperately needed.

John 15:16 (NIV UK)
16 You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you so that you might go and bear fruit – fruit that will last – and so that whatever you ask in my name the Father will give you.

🙂