Opinion Post

Dear Manchester.

Dear Manchester.

John 16:33 (ESV)
33 I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”

My heart keeps breaking for Manchester today.
I pray that the people who have been affected by this attack have peace, true inner peace that only God can give them. I also pray that all who haven’t yet been found are found by their families and they receive the peace that they need. I pray that the Bible believing Christians in that city and around it do all they can to ensure that the city heals from this tragedy.

pray for manny.png

When I found out about this attack I immediately text a couple of friends who live in the city just asking them to stay safe. And then when I found out where the attack happened I was hit with the “what if my friend was there?” I was thinking what if my friend was there and every opportunity that God has given me so far to speak to her has gone and I didn’t do what God told me? before my mind ran away I got the i’m safe text “but all my friends were there and one is still missing.”  My mind hadn’t fully acknowledged the weight of this thought. I then remembered Ariana Grande and her demographic and it hit me just how young a lot of the people who were at this concert are and the scale of this evil act really hit home.

These children were young and someone (the devil) attempted to steal their life before it even truly began. 

London Wall

What do we as Christians need to do in light of an attack like this? We need to start interceding for the world out there. We need to open our hearts and pour out to God with regard to the communities that we live in. Moses interceded for the Israelites and God relented his anger. Moses was willing to have his name removed from the book of life for the sake of the Israelites who were sinning against God at every opportunity (Exodus 32:32.)

Exodus 32:12-14 (NIVUK)
12 Why should the Egyptians say, “It was with evil intent that he brought them out, to kill them in the mountains and to wipe them off the face of the earth”? Turn from your fierce anger; relent and do not bring disaster on your people. 13 Remember your servants Abraham, Isaac and Israel, to whom you swore by your own self: “I will make your descendants as numerous as the stars in the sky and I will give your descendants all this land I promised them, and it will be their inheritance for ever.”’ 14 Then the Lord relented and did not bring on his people the disaster he had threatened.

There is Hope

As Christians we should be living our lives not as the cure but as prevention. (We pray for communities after an attack happens and once it’s over and everything is settled we stop praying. This is praying for a cure. Prevention prayers are the prayers that we should be praying all the time to ensure that nothing of this nature happens.) We are not fighting against people we are fighting against the devil and his plans.

The devil and his evil never stop working, so why do we? 

Ephesians 6:12 (ESV)
12 For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places.

When we come together in prayer we can stop all the evil that is working in the area before it does any more damage to people and families. Jesus did not come for the healthy he came for the ill. Praying for people who don’t know God or Jesus is not a wasted prayer it is an opportunity for us to help people to find their way back to God. We can be the beacons of hope in our own communities as well as the world.


Kirk Franklin – My World Needs You (ft Tamela Mann, Tasha Cobbs & Sarah Reeves)

🙂

Leave a Reply

