Personal

Alpha: Week Two – Who Is Jesus?

Alpha:

Week Two – Who Is Jesus?

John 14:6 (ESV)
6 Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.


 Who Is Jesus? – Nicky Gumbel

If you haven’t read or watched week one, here’s the link. Week one was about “is there more to life than this?” With it being the first week of the session I think I kind of went into it with some expectations but I thought that I had no expectations and was left feeling disappointed. But it’s a great place to start in terms of understanding our relationship with God. Nicky talks about his own journey from “Jewish atheist” to Christian.

Week Two:Who Is Jesus?

I personally found this week to be a weird one because I thought that it would be more about explaining Jesus’ in Biblical terms not in physical terms. There was a lot of reference to proving the existence of Jesus, that Jesus actually lived.

Nicky referenced a few people in history who have tried to disprove Jesus existence but they ended up believing in the existence of Jesus and they became Christians. This was actually really powerful because they went out with the sole intention to discredit God but they ended up surrendering to what the Bible says. It seems like a long way around something that you can find by simply reading the Bible. But we all have different journeys with God and we have to learn our own lessons.

Something that I haven’t been able to shake is the thought about our human need to want to prove the existence of God or Jesus. Personally I don’t need human beings to tell me whether Jesus did exist because I know it in my heart and my life that He lived and died for me.

I recently read through Moses story because with a lot of the biblical stories (in fact the whole Bible,) I realised that I know what I have been taught or have watched but don’t know what’s actually in there, so I am renewing my mind and understanding of the word of God. When I read through Moses leading the Israelites to the promised land what I found interesting was the fact that they kept on complaining about God to Moses and they wished that they had stayed in Egpyt. (Read Exodus to get an understanding of the people and their grumbling.)

Exodus 17 (NIV UK)
Water from the rock
17 The whole Israelite community set out from the Desert of Sin, travelling from place to place as the Lord commanded. They camped at Rephidim, but there was no water for the people to drink. 2 So they quarrelled with Moses and said, ‘Give us water to drink.’ Moses replied, ‘Why do you quarrel with me? Why do you put the Lord to the test?’ 3 But the people were thirsty for water there, and they grumbled against Moses. They said, ‘Why did you bring us up out of Egypt to make us and our children and livestock die of thirst?’ 4 Then Moses cried out to the Lord, ‘What am I to do with these people? They are almost ready to stone me.’ 5 The Lord answered Moses, ‘Go out in front of the people. Take with you some of the elders of Israel and take in your hand the staff with which you struck the Nile, and go. 6 I will stand there before you by the rock at Horeb. Strike the rock, and water will come out of it for the people to drink.’ So Moses did this in the sight of the elders of Israel. 7 And he called the place Massah and Meribah because the Israelites quarrelled and because they tested the Lord saying, ‘Is the Lord among us or not?’

What I took away from the Israelites was the fact that God kept showing them his presence and existence but they kept on testing God and God kept moving within those tests. When I look at our human need for proof of anything spiritual I look at the Israelites as an example of how not to live life.

The Bible tells us of Jesus’ existence but we want physical proof that he was real. Even with all the stories past and present we still aren’t satisfied with what the bible tells us and lived experiences we want historical proof. As I mentioned above many people have gone seeking to disprove Jesus’ existence and have ended up believing in Him and God. If you go seeking Jesus you will find Him whether your intentions are good or evil.

As I said above I don’t need or want science etc. to prove that Jesus existed. I know in my heart, mind and life in general the Jesus is real. He loves me, Died for my sins and he is coming back for me and everyone else who he has saved and called to a holy life.

This week of Alpha ties in perfectly with week four. So I will try and write it as quickly and sensibly as possible.

🙂

One thought on “Alpha: Week Two – Who Is Jesus?

Leave a Reply

