Opinion Post · Personal

Am I Willing To Lose My Life For God?

Am I Willing To Lose My Life For God?

Revelation 6:9 (ESV)
9 When he opened the fifth seal, I saw under the altar the souls of those who had been slain for the word of God and for the witness they had borne.

Francis Chan: Living With Boldness

Over the weekend I found myself in a YouTube hole, and it mainly consisted of Francis Chan videos. This was my first time watching his videos and I only started because we lost a family member this weekend. Before watching this video I was having difficulty processing this family members passing, I was in shock mainly and a whole bunch of emotions. I genuinely didn’t think I would be able to move on from her passing so quickly. It’s only been a few days. After watching this video I felt at peace because my thoughts were starting to wander into what if’s and maybe’s. After watching this video I then went on to a few others and I enjoyed them immensely, they gave me a new perspective on my personal life and as part of the Christian community.

Francis Chan’s way of teaching can punch you in the gut if you’re not prepared for it because he will offend you especially if you are what he is speaking about. His methods will make you seriously reevaluate your character and your beliefs. But ultimately this way of teaching will help you to move your life forward in pursuit of God and His kingdom.

After watching a few Francis Chan videos especially the one above I was left asking myself this question Am I Willing To Lose My Life For GodAnd honestly I have thought about it and the answer is NO. Right now how my mentality is and how I am with regards to God’s word and the world I probably would not stand by God’s word. I have been in a tug of war with myself over certain things that are becoming more accepted in society and the church but go against the word of God. Maybe I am being a bit too harsh on myself and my personality because in the past I didn’t stand by my morals or beliefs. I do hope that I will look at myself in the future and I will be able to say yes I would die for God.

Recently I watched these two videos (saving my assassin pt 1 & pt 2) in which a woman spoke about how she stood by her beliefs even when she was looking death in the eye. My initial reaction was wow that’s an amazing story, we are so lucky that we don’t live in a society where we are faced with death because we believe in God. But I have since examined my thoughts further and realised that we are laying the foundations for future generations and everything that we are doing is leading future generations who will be persecuted for their beliefs down the road where they would appease society over standing by God’s word.

1 Corinthians 6:9-11 (NKJV)
9 Do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived. Neither fornicators, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor homosexuals, nor sodomites, 10 nor thieves, nor covetous, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor extortioners will inherit the kingdom of God. 11 And such were some of you. But you were washed, but you were sanctified, but you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus and by the Spirit of our God.

Asking myself this question Am I Willing To Lose My Life For God? has made me look at my life and what I (and other Christians) accept even though it goes against God’s word. We accept gossips, sexually active outside of marriage (sexually immoral), greedy people etc into our churches and homes but we shut the door to the homeless, hungry, homosexual people, certain criminals and anyone else who we deem as beneath our measure of “good or can be saved.” We have a measure of sins that we only apply to certain groups of people outside the church but this is leading people away from God’s word and towards a version of Christianity that does everything to fit into the world and not into God’s kingdom.

Galatians 1:10 (NKJV)
10 For do I now persuade men, or God? Or do I seek to please men? For if I still pleased men, I would not be a bond servant of Christ.

As Christians we do not stand by the word of God like other religions do in defense of their own beliefs. We stand by principles that entice people to Christianity at the expense of the truth of God’s word. We fear pushing people away from us or our church more than we fear changing God’s word to suit the world and it’s pursuits.

Romans 1:32 (NKJV)
32 who, knowing the righteous judgment of God, that those who practice such things are deserving of death, not only do the same but also approve of those who practice them.

I watched a YouTube video (when my tug of war was raging) from a Christian that went against God’s word, this person was trying to appease the world and her own actions in the past at the expense of keeping God’s word. At the time I was furious, I could tell that her actions were misguided, she had gone to extreme lengths to justify what she was saying at the expense of keeping God’s word. I asked myself how anyone could do that but then I looked at my own life, the people around me and I could see that we do it every single day. We are or have family members who are living outside the will of God and we love them, accept them, understand their story.

As Christians today, we tell ourselves and others who are close to us that something isn’t that bad or wrong. “You didn’t murder anyone, you just had sex with someone you love, there’s nothing wrong with that, I’m sure God doesn’t mind.” We are constantly going against God’s word to make ourselves feel better about our sins. To justify our actions we measure our sins against other sins “that are far worse than our own.” We aren’t rightfully holding the people in our churches accountable for their sins but we are seeking to judge people who do not have God in their lives, when it comes to anyone outside the church we shut the door on them and tell them we can’t accept them.

Revelation 22:18-19 (NKJV)
A Warning
18 For I testify to everyone who hears the words of the prophecy of this book: If anyone adds to these things, God will add to him the plagues that are written in this book; 19 and if anyone takes away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God shall take away his part from the Book of Life, from the holy city, and from the things which are written in this book.

We haven’t had a good example set for us by previous generations (those outside of the bible) and we are not setting a good example for generations to come.

Our judgments of the people who aren’t pursuing God has led us to this place now where we are accused of being this, that and the other by people who know nothing about God, the Bible or what it says in it. Our treatment of the sins and sinners we accept and don’t accept has led us to be called hypocrites.

Our actions today will shape the lives of future generations, what we choose to allow because we want more bums on seats in our churches will shape Christianity in the future.

We shouldn’t go around questioning everyone in our churches about their personal sins but we can’t keep worshipping with people who sin more often than the world does and then expect the world to look at us and want to be a part of us. We need to start preparing ourselves and the people around us for a time when they will be persecuted for their beliefs. We need to start living life in true belief of God’s word instead of having one foot in society’s way of life and the other in the Christian way of life.

Colossians 2:8 (NKJV)
8 Beware lest anyone cheat you through philosophy and empty deceit, according to the tradition of men, according to the basic principles of the world, and not according to Christ.

Francis Chan’s way of teaching has opened my mind and heart to what I have been missing in my walk with God. I have been missing truth from my walk with God. When I watch or hear a sermon I need make sure that everything that is being said by a pastor is the truth that we find in God’s word. I need to know God’s word intimately, so that if anyone says anything that goes against God’s word I know not to take it into my heart and home and start living by it because that is not what God has to say. As Christians we need to reevaluate what we are allowing into our mindsets and into our walk with God. We need to know God’s word, stand by it not just in private but publicly too. 

Being a Christian is a difficult choice to make but the rewards are greater than any persecution we could face today or in the future. 

Ask Yourself;
Am I compromising my beliefs and God’s word for the world?
Would I stand up for my beliefs even if it meant being incarcerated or killed?
Have I ever changed God’s word to appease the world?

🙂

Leave a Reply

