Personal

Just Pray.

Just Pray.

Jeremiah 33:3 (ESV)
3 Call to me and I will answer you, and will tell you great and hidden things that you have not known.

jeremiah-33-3

When I started my walk with Christ I struggled with prayer because I thought; I had to pray a certain way for my prayer to be heard and answered when in actual fact I didn’t need to. I always thought prayer was a formal conversation with God and it couldn’t be anything more than that. My prayers at the start of my journey were probably the best prayers I have prayed to date. They were honest, simple not filled with goals and formalities, they were from the heart and relevant to exactly where I was at that point in my journey with God.

My prayer life started with journals it didn’t start with me opening my mouth because of my personality which was greatly affected by my past I found it extremely difficult to be honest about my emotions -prayer is all about opening your heart to God. I started journaling after I read the book Write it down make it happen, by Henriette Ann Klauser. At first I was just writing in relation to the book but soon I started to write to God. I would tell him all my fears, ask for things good and bad, (that’s a topic for another day) I would let out my emotions, pain and problems all on paper.

Without starting a journal I don’t think I would have been able to actually learn what prayer is. This has helped me develop a better prayer life because my idea of prayer was nowhere near what prayer actually is. I now know that prayer is a conversation that you have with God and it can happen however you choose. You can write letters to God, have formal and informal conversations with Him in prayer, in your notebooks, however you know or choose to have conversations and get your words outside of your mind and body.

If like me you sometimes struggle with finding words to say to God; whether you are asking Him for something, casting your cares or fears upon Him or just having a general conversation with Him I would advise you to get a notebook and pen and write it away. I have gone through six notebooks in just over a year, it’s so much fun picking out a new one.

🙂

One thought on “Just Pray.

Leave a Reply

