Personal

Pray. Wait. Listen. Trust.

Pray. Wait. Listen. Trust.

Philippians 4:5-6 (ESV)
5 Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; 6 do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.

pray-wait-trust

Something that I never understood when I was a Christian (first time around, raised in the church!) and when I wasn’t a Christian is; “Pray, Ask God and He WILL (Give You What You Asked For) Answer.” I struggled with this concept not just because of my own prayers but other peoples stories big and small. I always wondered why there was so much suffering and pain even when people prayed for miracles.I never understood what prayer was or it’s purpose.

My understanding of prayer has evolved so much in such a short space of time. I not only understand the importance of prayer but I also understand it in terms of having a relationship with God.

James 4:3 (ESV)
3 You ask and do not receive, because you ask wrongly, to spend it on your passions.

When I was younger I asked my mum this question “Why are our lives like this when people who live in the world and don’t have God in their lives have good lives in comparison to ours?” I now have the answer to that question. I didn’t go searching for one, I lived it! When I lived as part of the world and my life was so far from great it wasn’t even good. My life with Christ prior to falling away from Him was actually good in comparison.

The answer to my question came recently. The reason our lives were not great in comparison to the world was because I was comparing life to the world and not to what God wants for us. Prosperity is a dirty word to a lot of Christians but to me it’s a powerful, warming word. Knowing that God wants good things for my life even though I am so imperfect makes me feel great about choosing to walk with Him. Walking with Christ is a choice not an obligation.

Jeremiah29:11 (NIV)
11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

I realise that in the past I was looking at God as if He had to answer all my requests, as though I was owed a good life because I was in church every week. When in actual fact God owes us nothing at all. Going to church does not mean that you believe in and are obeying God. Our works will not make Him give us anything, in our time of need or when we lack nothing. God IS NOT a sugar daddy who asks us to do something for Him in return for material rewards. That is not how God works. We don’t have to do any works in order for God to bless in an area that we want to be blessed in.

I didn’t have an ah ha! moment in order for me to reach this point, I had to experience it myself and hear ministers speaking about it in order for me to actually truly understand this.

hosea-6-6

God wants my heart, he wants me to go to him with a pure heart and innocence not just a request.

I now know that prayer isn’t about God give me this; it’s not just about requests and rewards, it’s about having a daily conversation with God as though He was one of your friends who you trust. It’s about going to Him with innocence and honesty and letting Him take on the work of fixing your heart and mind because you brought it to Him. 

🙂

Leave a Reply

