Personal

Seeing The Good In Life.

Seeing The Good In Life.

365 Memory Jar.

Proverbs 17:22 (ESV)
22 A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.

3a2ee657f8a5c1af52be3f59cf6b9ba3

Image – Pinterest TJ Maxx

If you struggle with enjoying / appreciating the little things in life and you find yourself constantly worrying, fearing, not appreciating your life I would suggest that you get yourself a memory jar. It’s one of the most rewarding things you can do.

You write one memory from your day and you pop it in the jar. Could not be simpler!

How does this help me appreciate things more in life?

Well the best thing about the jar is once you have reached your last day, you get to open and read all your notes to reflect on your year & you get to see what kind of person you are or have become.

I learned about memory jars when a friend sent me a 365 memory jar post she’d come across online. I was intrigued and I decided that December 31st (2013/14) I would start my memory jar. It didn’t happened. I kept thinking about doing a memory jar, but I wouldn’t do it because it wasn’t the start of the year and I wanted to commit to a full year. I finally attempted this jar (nov/dec 2015) because I was finding it hard to enjoy life and I thought anytime is a good time to start. I decided that I would write down one thing about my day and it didn’t have to be a good thing. But I soon found that it wasn’t really me, I struggled making time for it and a few months later I gave up doing it. 

I was putting my daily notes in a coin tin so by the time winter came back around I had completely forgot about my notes, I went into my money tin and remembered that I had been doing the memory note thing. I got all the notes out but didn’t read them that night I waited until the following day and whilst reading about 3 months worth of notes I laughed so hard at myself. I experienced so many perspectives of myself / life; some were unpleasant others were just plain hilarious. My naivety, stupidity, hope and faith was plain to see and all I could do was laugh at myself.

But after going through and binning some of the not so nice notes, I thought about where my life was in comparison to where it is and I felt really good about myself and future. I was thankful to God for helping me overcome some of the issues in my life. 

  1. Get some post it notes.
  2. Start making memories. 
  3. Write down the good and the bad. (So you can see all aspects of your life)
  4. Skip a day? Put a note in anyway.
  5. Have fun reading about your life in notes.

🙂

Leave a Reply

